The {weekly} Daybook

I have seen this Daybook idea around on different blogs and enjoyed reading them, so I thought I’d try it too. 🙂 So this here is my Daybook, with a few variations…
Outside my window . . .
It’s a crisp and cloudy day, with rain showers and sunbeams taking turns visiting us.
Typical autumn day. At least I think? Haven’t lived here long enough to know what is typical.
The leaves are gradually taking over the lawn. (Which is freshly mowed, by the way. *gasp* The neighbors are shocked, I’m sure.)
The trees aren’t as colorful this year as they are sometimes.
I am thinking . . .
about what a fun weekend it was. 🙂 One of my dearest friends Alyssa got married.
Weddings are always happy occasions, but they’re especially happy when it’s a good friend and you know the back story.
Cheers for love stories that take time and end in happily ever after!
I really admire their commitment and willingness to serve in God’s Kingdom.
Gorgeous fall wedding with darling decorations.
Vintage lace, wooden crates, old books, burlap, and apples everywhere.
These little heart garlands just stole my heart.
ADORABLE.
 
I am creating . . .

Projects in my mind. 🙂 Haven’t done much lately in the project end of things, besides the apple butter jars featured in last post, and a gift basket for a church family.

I am reading . . .
Safely Home, by Randy Alcorn
This book has reopened my eyes to the reality of the persecuted church… oh sure, we hear about persecuted Christians, and even pray for them, but they seem so far-away that I tend to disconnect when thinking about it. The two main characters are contrasted: Li Quan from China, who is eventually imprisoned for his faith, and his old college roommate Ben Fielding from America who seemingly has it all as a big business CEO. The story brings out what really matters in life and brought a fresh view of the persecution happening in other parts of the world.
Have you read this book? Any good book suggestions from anyone out there?
I am hoping . . .
that some of my readers will comment. Most of the time I feel like I’m writing to the wall — is anyone out there anymore?? Do I need to do a giveaway to bring you all out? 😉
Around the house . . .
We’ve been gone so much lately, that pretty much anytime spent at home is catch-up.
Laundry, laundry, and MORE laundry. Organizing, cleaning, cooking.DONE with the canning. YAAAAAY!!!!!
It was so fun to decorate our house for autumn for the first time… I can’t imagine how fun Christmas decorating will be!
I am thankful for . . .
Home canned chicken broth from my mama
A warm house
Romantic candle-lit moments
Plenty of produce from the garden
Good neighbors
Hugs
My favorite farmer
Laughter
In the Kitchen . . .

I tried my hand at making chocolate chip biscotti yesterday for the very first time. Quite a few biscotti and several cups of coffee later, I’m still trying to decide if I like it or not. It might help if I would’ve remembered to add the vanilla. 😉

Today I’m in the process of making Pumpkin Spice Biscotti. Not sure what my problem is, but I keep doing the dumbest things while baking. This time I put in twice as much pumpkin as the recipe said. :/ (I’m hoping the extra flour I added will fix the problem).

White Chicken Chili and cornbread was supper last night, and the last Tomato Pie of the season is on the menu for tonight.

One of my favorite things . . .

Being with these friends:

A picture . . .

Hand-cut fries at the local farm show a couple weeks ago. Oh so yummy!

19 thoughts on “The {weekly} Daybook

  1. I just love reading your posts dear. 🙂 It keeps me updated on your life even if we don’t talk that much anymore.
    P.S. I really liked the way you did this one.

    Like

  2. I feel a little funny commenting since I don’t know you at all, but your blog is among my favorites:) Your food blog a couple times ago, totally inspired me to get out of my cooking rut:)

    Like

    1. Oh don’t feel funny at all — I love meeting new people and it was great to hear from you!! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the food blog — I love hearing what other people are cooking as well. 🙂 Always inspires me!

      Like

  3. Hmmmmm…. I see some of your mum in your writing. I liked the “favorite farmer” you slipped in there. 🙂

    Like

    1. Like mum, like daughter, I guess?? 🙂 Btw last night I met a lady from WI that knows Allen — Cindy Martin was her name, I believe. Shes the wife of the C.A.M director. Ring a bell?

      Like

  4. I’m here and I love reading your blog!! I will try to comment more in the future. 😉 I am making your wonderful bread today as a surprise for Hubby. And we are having chicken corn chowder to go with it on this cold, blustery, fall day. I miss you! I agree, I can’t WAIT to decorate for christmas!!! I am longing forward to a snowy winter to stay home and make our home more cozy….still haven’t finished my window! Maybe I will send you an email soon since this is getting too long. 🙂 Have a nice evening!!

    Like

  5. I’m here as well, Kristin!:) Love reading your posts – the writing and pics – always so beautiful and encouraging. ~Kendra

    Like

  6. I’m still here as well! 🙂 By the way, what exactly is a Daybook? I’ve never even heard of one. I enjoy seeing your pictures; they add a nice touch to your posts!

    ~Ashley

    Like

  7. Hey Kristin… this is my “comment.” 🙂 Apparently one cannot comment on your blog unless they have a WordPress account? [That’s what I am experiencing.] Have you ever thought about using disqus or something like that?? http://www.disqus.com/websites/

    I really like your variation of a “daybook!” 🙂 [I really enjoy your blog/photos… we readers are out here even if we don’t/can’t comment.] So fun to see wedding pictures too!! =) Wish I could come have biscotti and coffee with you!]

    I’ve read Safely Home and it’s a really good book! I’m sure I could benefit from reading it again.

    Well, I need to run…

    Love, ~ Rachel

      “Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can.” – Arthur Ashe

    Soli Deo Gloria

    ________________________________

    Like

    1. Rachel, hmmm that’s really strange! Because I know alot of the people that comment *don’t* have a wordpress account. I went and checked my settings and the setting ‘Must be logged in and registered to comment’ isn’t selected. How did you comment this time? I will have to look into disqus — I haven’t ever heard of it before so I’ll check into it. 🙂

      Have a super day!! *hugs*

      Like

  8. Hi Kristin! Thought I’d add my comment to the rest and remind you that your blog really is a blessing! What you write and post always feels very peaceful and hopeful, and that means so much.
    I’m currently reading an incredible book right now, One Thousand Gifts, that I highly recommend. Another one I love is Kisses from Katie- well worth reading! I love book recommendations, so I’ll definitely have to look in Safely Home.
    I hope you have a lovely day!

    Like

    1. Hi Janae — thanks for your encouragement. It meant alot!! I have read part of One Thousand Gifts & LOVED Kisses from Katie. Incredible book! Thanks for the recommendations 🙂

      Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!