Currently// October Twenty Fifteen

Currently// October Twenty FifteenIt’s been awhile since I’ve done a Currently post.

Eating/Cooking:ย Well this is a no-brainer. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Fall is here and so are all the yummy foods! Applesauce, apple crisp, apple butter, pumpkin cupcakes, apple pie, soups: on the menu. One last Tomato Pie for the year was popped in the oven last night to eat with friends. I just finished my third applesauce day; one with a friend, and two by myself. Why so much? I have a feeling that our little person will be eating alot this winter. ๐Ÿ™‚ Listening:ย My world expanded a few days ago! I discovered the Overdrive App. Sign up for free, and you can use it on your computer/phone/tablet, or whatever device you have. Then sync your library system and search for the Overdrive e-audiobooks available. Borrow one (just like you’d borrow a book from the library) and BOOM, you have a free audiobook instantly. Once your time is up (my library lets you borrow things for 14 days), it instantly returns itself. No more overdue library fines! I’m currently listening to Unbroken, the WWII story about Louie Zamperini.

Reading: We are trying to get into the habit of reading a psalm together at breakfast. They say it takes 21 days to start a habit — it hasn’t been that many days yet, so hopefully soon we will be in the rhythm. ๐Ÿ™‚

Playing: Settlers of Catan is my latest favorite game. (*whisper* I just learned how to play) Yeah I know, I’m a little behind in the game world. Hello, cozy fall evenings + my favorite game-playing person + pumpkin cupcakes + coffee.Growing: Two things. The fastest growing “thing” around here — well, she’s actually a person, not a thing. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Our little princess went from sitting to crawling in the space of two weeks, and she also says “dada” and “ba”. (bottle, I think) Just… WHERE DID MY BABY GO SO FAST???It’s fun to watch her world expanding, even if it makes my world a lot busier — and it’s expanding, alright. Once one can independently be mobile, life is never the same. Case in point: Avi now knows how to get stuck under a chair, open a bottom dresser drawer, and what happens when you touch a sleeping dog’s paw. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (No injuries besides normal bumps on the head, in case you’re wondering)The other thing I have been growing in large quantities are peppers. This afternoon I harvested what was left in our garden, since tonight is supposed to be our first freeze. And, wow, are there ever PEPPERS. They were shaded by the large broccoli plants early on in the season, and were somewhat stunted in their growth. Once the broccoli got pulled, they finally could thrive! Unfortunately, this was long after I needed peppers for things like salsa and V8. Methinks I will be chopping peppers for the freezer sometime in the near future. ๐Ÿ™‚ Outside My Window: It depends which window you look out. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Out my back window this afternoon was this scene:Soybeans got combined today, so hubby was out with the tractor + accelerator. I love the fact that they farm the land right up to our back yard, so I randomly see tractors going by with people I know in them!

Out my front window are cornshocks + mums, with a few pumpkins thrown in. I like the festiveness of fall decorating. Next year I want to grow white pumpkins. ๐Ÿ™‚

What does your October currently look like?

3 thoughts on “Currently// October Twenty Fifteen

  1. This post makes me happy, I always love seeing what you’re up to. I just made fall wreaths for my two married kids. I saw the wreaths on Pinterest and they’re just basically fall fabrics tied in knots around a styrofoam wreath. Since they’re both sort of just starting out, they don’t have many seasonal decorations. I really like how fall decorations can go up pretty much in September and hang around until Thanksgiving, and you can use things like corn stalks, pumpkins, leaves, etc. to decorate so it’s not too expensive either. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a good week!

    Like

  2. I love the pictures. I always enjoy that back view. And someone looks very cute under that chair. For fall, come see the bright yellow leaves in our backyard.. today we went out driving to see more (some of the best ones were just down the road!)

    Like

  3. Your Currently posts are always so interesting!
    Our October is lots of pumpkin + apples, pulling out the cozy cool-weather clothes, and staying inside for snuggles when the days are chilly. I love October so much!!

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

