Words to Live By: II

A quick hello on this Wednesday!

Suddenly life has sped up and I feel like all I do anymore is make food and can. 🙂 (With some coffee, baby cuddling, and cleaning thrown in there) Our neighborhood picnic is tomorrow evening, we helped with chorus snack last Monday, a family gathering is coming up on Saturday, and hubby turns a year older next week so we are celebrating with two different parties! These all involve food. 🙂

Homemade ice cream, watermelon, grilled burgers + hotdogs, fresh salsa, Tomato Pie, potatoes au gratin, fresh peach pie, raspberry pie, party potatoes, grilled chicken, baked corn, red beet eggs, olive/basil/tomato salad, cookies, meadow tea… I think I have my work cut out for me. 🙂

Hospitality always seems to be about food, and I’m anxious to read this book by Shauna Niequist. From the interviews I’ve heard and the reviews I’ve read, she seems like she is on target when it comes to hospitality + food. 🙂 This quote says it perfectly:It’s not about our stellar hosting skills, our picture-perfect houses, or about our food being delicious. It’s about so much more than that. [Not that there is anything wrong with enjoying to host, or having a nice-looking clean house, or having tasty food] When those things become our focus, we’ve lost the true heart of hospitality. It’s about caring for the people and making them feel at home.

Any thoughts? 

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

