Summertime Eating

Summertime eating is my favorite. I think it’s because there is all that fresh garden produce around and meals seem to fall together so easily.

Corn on the cob.
Tomato + zucchini sandwiches.
New potatoes.
Roasted broccoli.
Just picked peas.
Fresh salsa.

I like to try to find things to make that don’t take the oven, as that can really heat up the house. I need to find some more crockpot and stovetop recipes. Anyone have one to share?

A few tried + true favorites.

Texas Philly Cheese Wrap, topped with Southwest Spicy Mayo on homemade tortillas. Yummers! I don’t usually spend this much time on supper prep, but today is hay-baling day so we are eating supper much later than normal.

Of course, there is the old faithful Tomato Pie that I so adore. (If you’ve read my blog for any period of time, you knew it’d come up sooner or later 😉 ) I make a version of this recipe — caramelizing the onions and adding a few more seasonings.

Crispy Corn Fritters always put a smile on the husband’s face. Whenever I ask him what he’s hungry for, this is his answer. 🙂 They are especially good with fresh chives and parmesan cheese added to the batter.

Crispy Southwest Chicken Wraps is another favorite. I like that you can make the filling ahead of time and keep it in the fridge. When you’re ready to make your wraps, heat up your filling, stuff your wraps and voila — quick ‘n easy lunch!A few edibles I want to make this summer:

Southwest Quinoa Salad
Spicy Paprika Lime Chicken
Grilled Pizza
Bruschetta with Tomatoes + Basil
Chicken Caesar Pasta Salad

What are your favorite things to eat in the summer?
4 thoughts on “Summertime Eating

  1. Southwest Salad is a huge hit here!

    A bed of lettuce
    Black beans (rinse and drain)
    Canned corn (rinse and drain)
    Fried/grilled chicken
    Cheese
    Tomatoes
    Onions
    Avocado
    Peppers
    Cilantro

    For a dressing mix half ranch and half BBQ sauce together! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mmm… you’re making me hungry! BLT’s with those fresh tomatoes. Fresh salsa. Any fresh veggie. I asked Mom to cream the first fresh peas we had today. Very good.

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

