Sweet Summertime

I love summer, there’s no doubt about that. My only complaint is that it seems to fly by and last half as long as winter. Which is rather sad, as there as twice as many fun things to do in the summertime.

It’s crazy — it seems like my summers usually involve sickness or stressful things. For example: last summer there was stress related to church stuff, early round of lyme’s disease for the hubby + a run-in with bed bugs, then morning sickness hit in mid-July and I couldn’t stomach much of anything, especially the fresh herbs that I look forward to the rest of the year. The summer before, I had mono and had to watch that I didn’t overdo it. Other past summers have seemed to involve difficult relationships with people or work-related stress. So far the beginning of this summer has mainly been revolving around my mother-in-law’s heart surgery and trips into the hospital. Now this week things seem to be getting back to “normal” and I want to enjoy this summer before it slips away. πŸ™‚

These are a few of my favorite thingsΒ  about Summer Twenty Fifteen.

  • Watching the little one discover the big world around her. Her latest thing is “playing” with her jungle gym toys with her feet. Guess it’s easier than maneuvering her hands – ha! I never imagined I’d be excited about my baby learning how to play with toys. πŸ˜‰ She’s still too little to really “get” most things — but that doesn’t keep me from introducing her to new experiences. She’s already held a strawberry in her hand and felt the grass between her toes. πŸ™‚
  • Running outside to the garden in bare feet to pick chives + fresh basil + cilantro + onions for the morning’s eggs.Β  The plants have just exploded with growth in the last few weeks, since we finally got some rain. I faithfully watered every day when we were so dry, but there is just nothing like some good ‘ol rain to foster growth.
  • Cutting flowers for bouquets from my very own garden. My perennials are still getting established, and I dream of the day when my peonies and hydrangeas are big enough that you won’t even be able to tell that I cut any. πŸ™‚ The cala lilies grew like crazy the last few weeks — I can hardly wait ’til they start blooming!
  • That fresh sweet strawberry scent. MMM! And of course lots of strawberry pie, jam, shortcake, salads, chocolate-covered, and parfaits. We have our first strawberry patch (ever!) this year. Super fun to have our own berries! We’re already dreaming of expanding to a second raised bed so we have even MORE next year.
  • Lush green grass, after a soaking rain. This was especially needful after several months of dry weather. Our front yard was starting to look like a brown straw field.
  • All kinds of fun people visiting us. The end of May we got to hang out with Deron + Rae for an evening and morning, then a few days later John + Sarah came. (A business acquaintance) Sarah so nicely babysat for me so I could be at the hospital while Jonathan’s mom was in surgery, as you could not have children in that particular waiting room. The next week we hosted my brother Jesse while he was in the area for a food show + my sister Rose came along to spend some time with me. So fun! And then a few days after that, Alyssa + Rachel came for a day– such fun times walking in the park, chatting in a little cafe, and just being together. πŸ™‚
  • Sitting on the front porch after dark, watching it rain. Or sitting out in the quiet evening hours, chatting away with our iced coffee, ice cream with fresh strawberries, and the baby. πŸ™‚ We’ve been so occupied the last few weeks, that we haven’t been home most evenings. I think our porch missed us — or at least I know I missed it. πŸ™‚
  • Β You know those Mondays whenΒ  there are piles of dishes and way-too-high weeds in the garden and more piles of laundry? Well I had one of those Mondays this week, and then I got a phone call and a sweet friend came over and helped me for a couple hours. And — she brought this along for breakfast the next day:Pancake batter that fried up into delicious pancakes, topped with greek yogurt + strawberries + maple syrup, along with peaches and iced coffee concentrate. Thanks Cherie, for brightening my day and giving me such a boost to my week! πŸ™‚

I could go on and on, but I think you get the point. Summer is sweet! And there are so many things I am hoping we can experience before fall comes our way: tennis (every summer we are like, we’re going to play lots of tennis this summer!! And every summer we don’t. :/ ), fireworks, camping, fresh produce, lots of jars sitting in my canning shelf (full, not empty like they are now), singing around the campfire, a neighborhood picnic…

Happy Summertime to you!

2 thoughts on “Sweet Summertime

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

