Mother’s Day Musings

I am still getting used to the fact that I will be celebrating Mother’s Day this year in a different way than I ever have before.

I look into the innocent eyes of my precious two-month-old and tell her the important things of life she will need to know someday. (Like, “You’re going to love chocolate some day too!” as I munch on a handful of chocolate chips. Ha!) Often I will look up from a task and she is staring at me, watching every move I make. When I look into her eyes, I can see a mini image of myself  reflected in her dark pupils. She is so impressionable. I can teach her anything. I can teach her to love Jesus, and to talk to Him about anything. I can teach her Scripture. I can teach her to speak gentle words, to treat others kindly, and to work diligently.IMG_2489When she fusses while I’m trying to finish supper, I finally wrap her in a blanket and we sit on the porch rocker, waiting for her favorite daddy to come home. I sing and she drifts off to sleep contentedly.

I suddenly realize that these are the moments I will look back on with fondness.april11Sure, it’s not all easy and idyllic. Any mom would tell you that. There are those bleary-eyed 2:45 am feedings. There are those times when you’re both writhing miserably with an awful stomachache and all you want to do is curl up in a ball and sleep, but you can’t because the baby is wailing. There are so many hours of sacrifice and the times when she decides to be hungry too, just as you are sitting down to eat lunch.

But I  know that the good moments far outweigh the tough, and it is worth every hard, sleepless, frustrating day.

: : : : : :

I have new admiration and respect for mothers, since Avi was born. It takes so much grace + wisdom + strength to go through nine months of pregnancy, then the trauma of labor and delivery. And that is just the beginning of motherhood!

Thanks Mom, for all you went through to give me life and to pass on a legacy of faith to me. I love you!

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Musings

  1. Mm, thanks, dear. It’s wonderful seeing you be a mother. I sure wanted to hold Avi today, my arms ached to hold her and look in her eyes. Yes, soon… Love ya.

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

