Fruit + What It Tells About Me

I just witnessed a scene of classic road rage played out right across the road. The UPS driver parked on the road and proceeded to take his good old time unloading a mammoth box from the back, then walked it to the front door of our neighbor’s house. The problem was, he parked right on the hill, so the cars behind him couldn’t see to safely pass. This entailed quite a back-up of rush hour work traffic, a terrific honking and a very angry man yelling so loudly that I could hear every bad word he said from inside my house.

(Given, it was a dumb move on the UPS driver’s part. He easily could’ve just pulled into the driveway and saved himself and a lot of other people grief.)

I don’t know the angry man. I don’t know what else he had faced in his day. I do know that his actions told me something about him. That he wasn’t exercising the fruit of the Spirit. That he was impatient. That he didn’t hesitate to use bad words.

These verses came to mind:

“For no good tree bears bad fruit, nor again does a bad tree bear good fruit, for each tree is known by its own fruit. For figs are not gathered from thornbushes, nor are grapes picked from a bramble bush. The good person out of the good treasure of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure produces evil, for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.” [Luke 6:43-45]

And I think of myself. How do I respond when someone spreads false rumors about me and those I love? How do I act when I get stuck in a fifteen minute stand-still due to construction on the road I’m taking? (true story) Do I treat others the way that Jesus does?

What is the fruit of my life telling about me?

IMG_0939

One thought on “Fruit + What It Tells About Me

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

