Love Challenge // February

Love.

That little word that seems to be the theme of this short month of February.jan5

What does it bring up in your mind? Pink hearts and cheesy valentine cards and another reminder of singleness? Romantic dates and roses and chocolate?

I’ve always liked Valentine’s Day, even before I had a valentine. πŸ™‚ Maybe it has something to do with the fact that it’s the day before my birthday. Or maybe because I’m just sappy like that. πŸ˜‰jan6

The commercial industry focuses on Valentine’s Day as a lover’s holiday; a day to celebrate your sweetheart. Don’t get me wrong, I have absolutely no problem with this — I like flowers & romantic dates just as much as anyone. However, I have been thinking of it in a little different light this year.

Love is not just for lovers.
Our call to love others is so much more than just our spouses/sweethearts.
There are moms, dads, brothers, sisters,
grandparents, children, friends, neighbors,
church family, the cashier in the local grocery,
the homeless man down the street.
The list is endless.

I’m not suggesting that we try to make Valentine’s Day into a love everyone holiday. It’s obviously not going to be appropriate to be celebrating with everyone, the same way you’d celebrate with your sweetheart. What I am suggesting is that we use this month of February as an extra reminder to love. However that looks fleshed out in your life — you’ll know.

I’m challenging myself to love someone around me in an extra special way this month, at least one time per week in February.

Who’s with me?

: : : : :

P.S. I would love to hear feedback from some of you, if you choose to join me this month. Leave me a comment telling me about what you did (Either here or on facebook) and if I get enough, I’ll compile them and share them at the end of the month. We can all learn and get ideas from each other! Love well.

3 thoughts on “Love Challenge // February

  1. Valentines Day is always in combination with my husband and I wedding anniversary since we got married the day after. So in every sense, for us, this Love Day is all about married love. I am finding the longer we are married it is just as you said, it is so much deeper than the date night, chocolates, and roses. A real love celebration is more about sacrifice of what I want and giving to the other. Thank you for your thoughts on this.

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

