Recipe// Crockpot Apple Butter

If you’re like me, I used to think of apple butter as this hard-to-make thing. I thought that you had to make in a huge pot over a fire, stirring with a big wooden spoon. 🙂 Well, you certainly can do it that way. But you don’t have to! All you need is a crockpot and you can make apple butter too!

I did round 2 of applesauce canning this past Tuesday, and decided to make a batch of apple butter with some of the extra sauce. The next morning it smelled ah-mazing!! I found the recipe in a Fix-It and Forget-It Cookbook.

IMG_5320

: : : : : :

Dolores’ Apple Butter

3 quarts unsweetened applesauce

3 c. sugar (or sweeten to taste)

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. ground cloves

Combine all ingredients in large slow cooker. Cover. Cook on low overnight, or approximately 16-20 hours. [I started it around 5 pm and cooked all night. When I got up in the morning, I took the lid off to help it thicken up. Stir & cook until it’s to your liking, as far as thickening.] To can, process in a hot water bath canner for 5 minutes.

: : : : :

Every fall I get in this baking fallish things mood. This week the results of that were a double batch of dinner rolls and of course, this apple butter. It’s quite fun to have on hand as hostess gifts, neighborly gifts, and I’m-glad-you’re-my-friend fall gifts. 😀

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

