Snippets From My Garden

I am enjoying gardening this year like I never have before. Something about watching those little baby plants grow up and get bigger and bigger, and then WHAM! They are producing all sorts of fruit. Okay, veggies, actually.

My mom is big-time into gardening, and I have to smile and think about that sometimes when I’m out piddling in my garden. She especially enjoyed it back when we lived in Lima, and spent hours & hours with her flowers and vegetable garden. I never dreamed I’d be the same way. πŸ˜‰ Maybe it was all those times Jesse & I went along with Mom to the gardening club when we were little. Of course, the highlight back then was when this particular nice lady named Marilyn was there, because she would smile at us and give us candy. πŸ˜€

Now, the thrill is in watching these green plants grow and thrive.

Tis fun to watch my lettuce go from seed planted in the soil to this:

IMG_4116

And then to this:

june8

In which Kristin finalllllly harvested the lettuce, spinach, and kale. We will be eating salad for days and days.

june9

And then it appeared on our table for lunch looking like this:

june12

My FAVORITE salad with a twist: season chicken with garlic pepper & parmesan cheese, then fry in coconut oil and add to salad.

june14

: : : : :

Weeding is a never-ending work in progress. Lots of rain last week and then high humidity & temps this week is making everything grow like crazy. Except it’s making the weeds grow faster than my basil!

june11

L-R in photo. Broccoli plant, weeds, weed bucket, tomato plant, parsley, chives in corner, mild Hungarian Wax peppers, the gardeners feet ;), a few more weeds, and part of the handle of my garden scratcher hoe thingy.

june16

Cilantro and basil seeds were planted at the same time. See the smaller yellowish looking basil in the right corner? That is ALL they have grown. This perspective isn’t the greatest for comparing sizes, but trust me, the difference is phenomenal. The basil is barely an inch off the soil and cilantro is… 2 feet? I think it was too cold when I planted the basil seed, and I should’ve watered it more. I got tired of waiting for it to grow, so I bought a couple more plants at a greenhouse sale yesterday. [Pictured in the left side of the square.]

june19

So excited to have fresh peppers! πŸ˜€ These little guys are going to be made into hot pepper jam, marinated, and used for fresh eating and canning.

june21

And tomatoes…

june20

I have big plans for my 23 tomato plants. Lots of salsa [fresh & canned], pizza sauce, V8 juice, and juicy BLT sandwiches. Not to mention Tomato Pie. πŸ˜€

Our soil is very rocky, so to add fertility we’re applying Aeromaster humus compost and watering with compost tea extract. Ha, just had to put in a little plug for the business there! πŸ˜‰ It really is doing good things for the soil and the plants. Yay for growing organically!

New plant I’m trying. Does anyone know what this green plant is and what I’ll be using it for? (At least, I hope it works. πŸ˜€ It’s still in the experimental stage.) I’ll send a small prize to the first person who guesses it correctly. 1-2-3-GO!

june18

Annnd… my new potted porch plant. Snuck some thyme in there.

june17

How ’bout you? What is your favorite thing to grow?

Happy Thursday!

2 thoughts on “Snippets From My Garden

    1. Ding ding! We have a winner! It is in fact a stevia plant. πŸ™‚ I want to dry the leaves, crush them, and then see how it works as a sweetener. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

