{The Weekly Daybook, IV}

Outside my window . . .

This:

and this:

When everyone else’s daffodils started blooming this spring, I wished so badly I would’ve planted bulbs last fall. I love daffodils! Voila, the local hardware store’s garden center had these plants/bulbs on clearance for $1 a pot. I snatched up the last two quite happily.

And there’s also stormy clouds. Millions of dandelions. And traffic. (Always)

I am creating . . .

I had fun to putting together a basket for a food shower for a couple getting married in May. πŸ™‚ The pint jars hold spiral pasta, rice, beans, oats, and canned carrots. The bride’s mom gave recipe cards with the invitations, so there are two recipes included with the gift. Enter a cute basket & tea towel, and voila – your gift is complete. πŸ™‚

I also made a wreath for the front door – only it’s not complete. I want to add a wooden letter to it yet, but I hung it anyway a few weeks ago. This house needed a springy touch quite desperately!

Took my brother’s senior pictures when we were in Ohio last weekend. Here’s a sneak peek:
I am reading . . .

I’m not reading anything currently, but a few weeks ago I WAS reading:

Seven From Heaven, by Kenny & Bobbi Mccaughey. Fascinating story about the only set of living septuplets in the world.

Dinner: A Love Story by Jenny Rosenstrach.This is the description on Amazon. This book is many wonderful things: a memoir, a love story, a practical how-to guide for strengthening family bonds by making the most of dinnertime, and a compendium of magnificent, palate-pleasing recipes. I don’t totally agree with everything she writes, so take it with a grain of salt. I really liked her emphasis on family dinners and it was interesting to read their journey.

Linking Up . . .

Β When Healthy Isn’t, Part 1 & II

I want to make these

Interesting blog all the way from China

Nutella *drools*

Around the house . . .

Ripping out carpet in the basement. It needed done eventually, as we want to paint and put in new flooring. A flood from the water spigot on the outside wall motivated (or rather, forced) us to do it sooner rather than later. [It was making the house smell stinky and musty]

Working on flowerbeds and hanging baskets. It’s been fun arranging flowers and deciding where I want to plant things. Loooong way to go yet, but it’s coming.

I am thankful for . . .
Spring
Fun couple friends to play tennis with
Fabulous discount grocery stores
Beauty
Vintage finds
Being able to own our own house
In the Kitchen . . .
Well, there’s a barefooted, aproned cook. πŸ˜€

Β I made vegetable pizza for the first time last week. I always loved when Mom made it at home. πŸ˜€ I hardly ever buy crescent rolls, but found them on sale the other week.Β Simply Wonderful saved the day with a delicious recipe, and I even tried my homemade dry Ranch mix in the cream cheese mixture. I like to make my own to save money, and to avoid all that MSG they put in the mix. I was surprised at how good it was! Tasted pretty much like the stuff you buy. I must admit, I was amazed at how long it lasted in the fridge… you know, no brothers around to compete with for the last few pieces. πŸ˜‰ (ha Ted, couldn’t resist)

These breakfast sandwiches are inspired by my sister-in-law Stephanie. She found them in a magazine and made them one morning when I was down at the farm. Basically, you scramble eggs with a little bit of milk, put them on top of biscuits or dinner rolls, top them with hot pepper jelly, add some cheese, and broil them until the cheese is melted. Super yummy! They would be really good with bacon too.

I also tried a few new dishes recently.

Ricardo Chicken, made with Linda G’s recipe and with ricardo seasoning she gave me as part of a gift. I made it for a Sunday dinner table full of company. It turned out good, but I didn’t think it was quite as good as Linda’s. πŸ˜€

Thai-Style Coconut Chicken from The Gratitude Journal is so SO delicious! I’ve made it twice in the last week, and my mouth is watering for it again. Think lime, ginger root, cilantro, and coconut milk — combined with chicken & peppers & other veggies, and served over rice. Ahhhh so good! I have no pictures because we were always in a hurry to eat. πŸ˜‰

I made cheeseburger soup yesterday, and (shock!) sort’ve THMified it. Cauliflower instead of potatoes. Mostly because I need to replenish our potato stash, and had some cauliflower to use up. You could hardly tell the difference.

One of my favorite things . . .

This little jewel of a jar from my Grandma’s, combined with a succulent from her garden – makes me smile whenever I see it.

A picture . . .

Dramatic sky.

4 thoughts on “{The Weekly Daybook, IV}

  1. Speaking of recipes and cooking, you remember those muffins you made for us girls when we came out to visit you? Well, I made them for my family the other day and they just LOVED them! πŸ™‚ They couldn’t get enough of them. It is now officially one of our favorites. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Oh yeah, I forgot about those muffins! I don’t think I’ve made them since – thanks for the reminder. πŸ™‚ How long did you bake them? And what kind of berries did you use? Mmm now I wanna go make some. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Made me smile… especially red apron, bare feet… jar with plants… and “need to eat quick, no time to take photo of amazing food”

    Like

  3. Such a pretty, Springy post! We’ve lived in the woods for 11 years now and just a few years ago I planted daffodils along the drive. Now I wish I would have years earlier. πŸ™‚ They are so refreshing in the Spring!

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

