Of Brekkie aka Breakfast

In Australia, they refer to breakfast as “brekkie”. It never fails to amuse me. πŸ˜€

I married a farmer. Thus, I make breakfast every morning. We have scrambled eggs most of the time, and I try to add different things to change it up. Toast, or bacon, or grapefruit. Sometimes pancakes. I can get rather stuck in a rut, and when I feel uninspired — all we eat is scrambled eggs.

However, this is what we had for a recent Saturday brunch. Scrambled eggs with onions & peppers, bacon, grape juice, and dutch babies topped with powdered sugar, maple syrup, and strawberries.

What are dutch babies, you say? I had never heard of them before last fall, when a gracious German Baptist hostess in western Ohio served them to us for breakfast. She gave me her recipe, but I seem to have lost it, so I made this one: Homemade Dutch Babies.Β They are super easy to make, and so good! I don’t know why they have such a strange name — does anyone know?

Other things I make on occasion are baked oatmeal, steel cut oats, quiche, waffles, pancakes, this potato omelet, and breakfast sandwiches. I’m always looking for ideas… so!

What is your favorite thing to make for breakfast?

4 thoughts on “Of Brekkie aka Breakfast

  1. “Brekkie!” That’s awesome…and funny, because one of the teachers in my TESOL class is Australian, and she was just telling me yesterday how Australians abbreviate everything–practicum becomes prac, for example, and everybody says uni instead of university. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Amy, she was absolutely right! They do abbreviate alot of things, and it’s so funny to hear. πŸ™‚ Ute (utility vehicle), footy (football), air con (air conditioning)… it’s hilarious!

      Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

