Why All The Tragedies?

“For his anger is but for a moment,
    and his favor is for a lifetime.
Weeping may tarry for the night,
    but joy comes with the morning.” [Psalm 30:5]

feb8I keep thinking about all the tragedies that have happened in the last few weeks and months. So many young people have been killed or involved in tragedies, especially young men.
I especially think of the stories of Anja, Sheldon, Gerald, and Marco. An 18-year-old young lady dies in a car accident, shocking the small Kansas community she lived in. A 31-year-old man from the same community drowns in a canoeing accident, leaving behind his wife of three years. A young father of two (31 yrs) is electrocuted while working. A 25-year-old newlywed man is shot in the head by a burglar, and is currently fighting for his life.

These are only a few of the tragedies. I’ve followed these particular stories because of some connection through people I know. {My sister-in-law was out in Kansas on a mission’s trip when Anja was killed. Sheldon went to the same church as some friends of ours, and I know the man who found him in the lake. Gerald was married to my second cousin Krista. Marco is a good friend of several good friends of mine, and I met his wife once.}

My heart is still with dear Linda from my Ohio church, also. She is walking a hard path so bravely and gracefully, after losing her husband Rojo 1 1/2 years ago.

Last week, which would’ve a few days after the Marcus Kauffman shooting, a friend & I were grocery shopping and talking about all this. Through the course of our conversation, some of our thoughts were: “Why do all these young people keep dying? I don’t understand why God keeps taking all these young men, leaving behind so many young widows. Why take the men? And they are the exceptionally godly men. What is God trying to tell us?” We didn’t really come up with many answers. Another friend’s insight is that there is intense spiritual warfare and that God is trying to get the church’s attention.

Something I read a few days ago on the facebook page, A Call to Prayer for Briana Stoltzfus, has really stuck in my mind.

As I look at all the pain/confusion, all around me, it is heartbreaking, and so so easy and first nature, to ask why, && yet, God chose he/she specifically, to walk through this… out of everybody else, He decided, that they were the ones, who could handle this! They are the ones, who are gonna bring Him the most honor && glory out of this!! They are called, and He will walk every step of the way, with them…
He didn’t bring them, this far, to let them sit, brokenhearted and restless.
He’s the ultimate peace giver.
In His arms, we find rest.

I can’t pretend to understand the sorrow and broken hearts that these families are facing. I have never been there. My heart aches for them. Being married now, I can understand a little better how devastating it would be to lose a beloved husband.

We may never understand the reason why, this side of heaven. But we can rest in the assurance that God is carrying those who have heavy burdens and sorrows. He will never leave or forsake us.

To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified.” [Isaiah 61:3]

3 thoughts on “Why All The Tragedies?

  1. I really liked these thoughts, Kristin. Especially the one about how we’re in an intense spiritual warfare, and God is trying to get the church’s attention, and also how God specifically chose certain people to walk through this. Those thoughts inspired me. 🙂

    Have a blessed weekend, my dear! ❤

    Like

  2. Thank you for your post, Kristin. I really don’t think in this life we’ll ever know the reason why. I’ve asked this question many times, not in a bitter way, but the question can’t help but be there. I do know God wants us to trust him with the big picture, and that’s all I can do right now.

    Like

  3. I enjoy your blogs. Yes there is so much heartache and pain all around us. I agree with what you said that so much of what is going on with these young people is spiritual warfare and God calling His church to awake, arise and repent! We need God so much and without Him we can do nothing…That is what I find for myself. My righteousness is as filthy rags. I need thee every hour, most gracious Lord!

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

