Today’s Trials

When I think of my life, I smile.
Not because it’s always easy. It’s not. It’s most certainly not perfect.

Sometimes cisterns run dry and sore throats rage and barns burn and the laundry piles up and the bathroom doesn’t get cleaned for awhile and it seems like our prayers don’t always get answered very quickly.

I smile because there is grace abundant and so much beauty and prayers that ARE answered. I have a God who loves me and a home to call my own and an amazing husband. I don’t deserve any of this, but He chose to give me these blessings.

When you’re single and wanting to move on to another stage of life, getting married looks like the best thing that could ever happen. [It is wonderful, don’t get me wrong. I love living life all the time with my sweetheart.] But… it’s still life in the big sinful world. It’s still sticky and painful and hard sometimes. Your trials do not go away when you are married. I’m sure you all know that, but there it is again. They may turn into different trials, true, but they are still there.

It’s really rather ridiculous when running across the road to get the mail wears you out. (In my defense, one must run to get to and from our mailbox because there is a very busy road with a nasty hill that cars like to pop over right when you are in the middle of the road. Not a very ideal scenerio. Hence, the running.) Or when an hour & a half in the kitchen totally wipes you out for the rest of the afternoon. At least now we’re stocked up on granola and pretzel sandwiches. 😀

IMG_0103

june1

{tutorial for pretzel sandwiches found here. They are super yummy and fun to make!}

Right now a little word spelled m-o-n-o is staring me in the face. I might have it.

So, I fold my laundry on the couch and blog more and work on my thank you note stack (never-ending, it is) and read and do little bits of work at a time and thank my sweet husband for finishing the pile of dishes.

I don’t know what will happen or how long it’ll take to feel better or what the future holds, but I’m convinced there is still quality of life to be had. 😀 I’m off to finish lunch! Happy Tuesday to you. 😀

3 thoughts on “Today’s Trials

  1. I really feel for you. Just when one thing gets better or fixed something new pops up. You just take everything in stride.

    Like

  2. I can relate. I have been dealing with what is most likely chronic Lyme’s disease for a couple of years now. Some days are good, others not so much. The thing for me is to find joy and thankfulness, no matter how I feel. I also have to think of the many great hymns that were written by people in the midst of severe trials, and I know I want to learn whatever it is that God is trying to teach me. (with patience!)

    Like

  3. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. I remember having mono in high school and I don’t ever remember feeling that sick since. Just take it easy and rest as much as you can – easier said than done, I know. Thanks for the link for the pretzel sandwiches – I love making pretzels and those look fab!! Feel better ~

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

