Whose Fault?

“We may have as much of God as we will.
Christ puts the key of the treasure-chamber into our hand,
and bids us take all we want.
If a man is admitted into the bullion vault of a bank and told to help himself,
and comes out with one cent, whose fault is it that he is poor?
Whose fault is it that Christian people generally have such scanty portions of the fine riches of God?”

[Alexander Maclaren, emphasis added]

A couple mornings ago, I heard the announcer on the local Moody station sharing this quote. He read it through twice, and it gripped me both times. You can’t get much more convicting than this!

Whose fault is it when I lack of the power of God, when it’s just a prayer away?
Whose fault is it when I tread around in the shallow end of the pool instead of diving into the deep end?
Whose fault is it when I don’t drink in the riches of God’s word?

Mine.

Lord, help me to use the key you’ve freely given — to know You more, to taste of Your rich treasures, and to unlock the deep mysteries of You.

One thought on “Whose Fault?

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

