She Returns!

I curl up on my little red window seat a little more often these days. Sometimes I talk on the phone or type out I-need-to-connect emails. I talk to God. I think about summer and life and relationships with people and the hard things that can go along with them.

And I’ve been noticing how much I miss blogging. I always thought blogs that never had new updates were so boring. (I still do) Oooops. Thus… I’m going to make an effort to write a little more regularly. Because I miss it. And because this blog is getting to be pretty boring.

So much has happened the last while.

The beginning of July death came and took one of the dear brothers in our church family. Rojo, husband of Linda and daddy to two little ones, Vance and Kaleigh. One doesn’t ever expect death, but this one felt especially shocking. (It was a lawn mowing accident) Taken at 30 years old — with so much zest for life and passion for serving God.  It doesn’t seem fair. He was not my physical blood brother, but it still stings. He was loved by so many! It seems unreal; one day he was so alive — the next he is gone.

I was in Pennsylvania for the week when it happened, so Jonathan & I made a flying trip back for the Friday afternoon viewing. I missed the Saturday funeral (in more ways than one) but have been hearing bits and pieces about it. Rojo’s bride of almost 5 years wore her wedding dress. Burial in 102* weather. Sorrow bonding our church family closer together. So many little God moments sprinkled through the sadness. He is still good and we still love Him.

Pray for grace and comfort for Linda & her children, and all those grieving.

Storms.

A gigantic storm hit our area,  just a few hours after I left for PA. (End of June) I heard about it for days after I returned. Huge amounts of people without electricity, much damage and devastation everywhere, all sorts of stories to be told.

Sorrow, tears, struggles, fears, betrayal. So many different storms that we face.

We sang the song “Til the Storm Passes By” at church yesterday. It brought tears.

‘Til the storm passes over,
‘Til the thunder sounds no more;
‘Til the clouds roll forever from the sky,
Hold me fast, let me stand,
In the hollow of Thy hand;
Keep me safe ’til the storm passes by.

Jesus, hold us and keep us safe in the hollow of Your hand.

2 thoughts on “She Returns!

  1. Good to read your blog again Kristin! I’ve missed your inspiring blog posts! And I miss you!!! Maybe I should just write one of those needing-to-connect emails to you again since our phone conversations seem pretty difficult to come by. 🙂 Love you!!

    Like

  2. thanks for writing and esp for posting that pic. . . .i don’t know the family but am deeply touched by their loss.. . .so hard to understand.

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

