How God Gives Joy

I had this really cool WOW moment happen to me last night.

This last week hasn’t been the greatest ever and life is just crazy full right now with running here and there, and all of a sudden the day of the Messiah was HERE and was I ready? Not really. Plus I wasn’t feeling very good yesterday and my eyes were tired, and add to that feeling emotionally drained and distracted with other things… Yeah, I had to fight to stay engaged in singing last night.

So I’m sitting there soaking in the words ofย  “His yoke is easy and His burden is light” and “Surely He hath borne our grief and carried our sorrows” and “He was despised and rejected of men… a man of sorrows and acquainted with grief and “He shall feed His flock like a shepherd… and He shall gather the lambs with His arm… and gently lead those who are with young” and hearing them in a whole ‘nother real way that I never have before. I love how God can take words you’ve heard over and over again and still bring them alive in a fresh way!

I kept asking Jesus for strength to sing, for Him. Despite the distractions and tired body and weary soul.ย  And when we got to the rejoicing songs like the Hallelujah Chorus and Even SO in Christ, shall all be made alive!! and Worthy is the Lamb, the strength was especially there!

After the performance was over and I was walking back to the coat room almost ready to leave, out of nowhere this girl comes up to me and says very emphatically, “I loved your face!” I must’ve looked a little confused, mostly cuz I was trying to figure out who she was and why she was saying this to me. Then she went on to say, “I was sitting where I could see you and I loved your face! It was full of joy!!!” And then she bounced away, leaving me standing there rather flabbergasted. I sorta like to think of her as this angel sent just to brighten my night… ๐Ÿ˜€

A small compliment, but it just blew me away. Because I felt like the complete opposite of joyful the whole entire day, and it proves just how much power God really has! That joy had nothing to do with me or anything I mustered up on my own, whatsoever. It was all Him. So praise the Lord! He can give even a weak little lamb like me joy. ๐Ÿ˜€

WHOOHOO! ๐Ÿ˜€

5 thoughts on “How God Gives Joy

  1. Krispie, I love this! Isn’t it just beautiful to have moments like that when you know it was totally God. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

