“And You Invited Me In”

Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’” (Matthew 25: 34-36)

This morning we sat on the floor of a mobile home in the mountains of Pennsylvania and discussed how we view the whole concept of hospitality in a whole new light. (In other words, if anyone is ever stranded in Ohio, there are four of us that would be MORE than happy to help you out!!)

It’s a very helpless feeling to be stuck five hours from home with a car that won’t start.

Praise God, He’s taken such good care of us. (Of course, I knew He could – and would!) After making a kajillion phone calls to various people we had connections with, a dear River Brethren family rescued us from having to spend Saturday night at the Blue Mountain Travel Plaza. They also towed my car back to their house, gave us the run of their vacated mobile home, fed us, made us feel so welcome at Sunday morning Meeting, gave up their morning to take the car to the shop today, and were so kind and hospitable. And now they’re not only friends of Willie’s, but all of us. 🙂

Even though I wouldn’t have chosen to wait two extra days to go home, I love the fact that God really does work out all things for good and has a reason for everything. I don’t understand all His reasons right now – maybe I never will. But there were so many God things to be grateful for! We all decided that if the car had to go caput, at least it was in the area it was in. If it would’ve been farther along the turnpike, we wouldn’t have known anyone for quite a few hours. We also met some really nice people – Willie said this morning that if anything, maybe God wanted to teach us more about hospitality firsthand. 🙂 (And I also have the utmost appreciation for functioning fuel pumps now) If anything, trust in God is strengthened!

Then there are also the unforgettable moments like eating granola bars in the stuffy hot car with the windows half open (so we wouldn’t suffocate) while it poured down rain outside. Or scrounging up enough clothes from everyone’s wardrobes to try to somewhat dress up for church on Sunday morning. (We weren’t exactly inconspicuous in a River Brethren service, but that’s okay :)) Or howling with laughter at absolutely nothing right before our absolutely exhausted selves conked and took amazing many-hour-long naps on Sunday afternoon. Or my little thrilled rejoicing moment when my car drove up the lane! 😀

[The last 48 hours – written mostly on the way home]

More on the whole intense amazing week at LBS later. (Like after I’m caught up on sleep and work and laundry and all that)

[My dear sisters – Willie, Jenny, and Julie!! Happily posing with Sylvester – before he let us down!]

6 thoughts on ““And You Invited Me In”

  1. I love it! It made laugh just thinking about us rolling around on the floor howling with laughter at absolulty NOTHING!!!!! It’s a girl thing I guess! 😉 Has the oppurtunity to “throw a stick” come your way yet since your home?!?!?! 😉 (couldn’t resist! sorry!) Good times, good times!! 😉

    Like

  2. Kristen, sounds like an adventure!! …Just to let you know I’m one of your “secret admirers” 😉 I enjoy reading your wonderful stories and inspiring thoughts of your life. Thank-you. It brightens my day and usually makes me smile or laugh out loud. 😉

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

