Of Joy and Waiting

Ah yes. In case you haven’t noticed, my blogging tends to go in spurts. You’ve just experienced three whole weeks of the not-inspired-to-blog spurt. πŸ˜‰ I have another neglected post that has been sitting here staring at me for over a week, waiting to be finished every time I get online. Every night I think, I’ve gotta finish that tonight! and so far, hasn’t happened. (Not to mention the piles of clothes that sit on the bed waiting to be folded. And the poor VBS posters. *gulp*) Anyway, that post is coming soon. It keeps getting longer & longer – I will finish it one of these days.

So while the pizza cheese sandwich is toasting in the skillet and the work shirts are tumbling in the dryer, I’m gonna try to say some of the things that are going over and over in my mind. (Let’s see if they’ll come out right – they sounded great in my mind while scrubbing the dining room floor)

“Wait for the Lord; be strong and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord.”
-Psalm 27:14

I posted this on facebook this morning, mostly as a reminder to myself. Because I’m not always very good at waiting or practicing patience, and my heart doesn’t feel especially courageous right about now. Quite the opposite, actually.

How do you wait patiently for God…. and be strong and courageous? (At the same time?) How do you align your will with God’s? How do you keep believing in His ultimate plan when it seems like you will be stuck in the same place forever? How do you live with joy, when there doesn’t seem to be anything much worth celebrating? How do you not worry?

*sigh* Yeah, it’s not been the best morning ever. But despite the salty drops shed while scrubbing floors and washing windowsills, there are still gifts to count. Ann Voskamp talks about the “hard eucharisteo” in her book… which means giving thanks in the midst of hard, tough things. And quite frankly, I don’t like counting gifts when I’m discouraged. But we are to give thanks in all things. So I try.

138. Pancakes hot from the griddle
139. Green polka dot plates
140. Clean sheets
141. Sunshine
142. Comfy PJs
143. Hug from little bro
144. Faith of friends when you have very little for yourself
145. Songs that say it perfectly
146. Solitude
147. Moms that bless your day (literally)
148. Sweet texts that make you cry
Β 
Β 

Grace told me once that sometimes it’s really easy to be joyful, because you just feel the joy! And then there are the times that you have to choose the joy… (yay, I get to go to her house this afternoon!)

Jesus, place your deep joy within and fill us with your Spirit of rest, while we wait on You.

Put on the garments of praise, for the spirit of heaviness;
Let the oil of gladness flow down from your throne!
Put on the garments of praise, for the spirit of heaviness;
Your joy is my strength alone, my strength alone. (Robin Mark)

6 thoughts on “Of Joy and Waiting

    1. Oh Esta. Your words made me smile! (though I’m not sure you’d want to read the unedited journal version of this post – ha!) YOU bless ME so much as well. πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

