Good Friday

It’s Good Friday.

The most awful day of Jesus’ life and the best day of ours.

The day when the enemy of our souls thought he had triumphed. The day that seemed as if it were the end of all good things. The day the most intense suffering of all time happened.

A crown of thorns… sweat drops of blood… nail pierced hands

 

(Robe & crown picture – credited to Lyz)

And with His stripes we are healed…

He suffered so that I could be free! He took upon His shoulders the heaviest burden in the world, so that I wouldn’t have to live under the weight of my sin. He felt the anguish and agony, so that my iniquities could be cleansed. He did all that…

For me. Me.

He did it for you too.

This morning I asked Jesus to help me feel what He felt and be completely immersed in the story. (We watched the entire book of Matthew today) I was really struck with the part where He is praying in the Garden of Gethsemane. I can feel it when the intense struggle to surrender happens… and He is brought to the point of deep anguish when He looks into the cup He is about to drink. It’s filled with pain and bitterness and sorrow and tears. He longed for it to be taken away, yet He said to His Father, “Not as I will, but as You will.” He surrendered.

How can one grasp the deep love He showed when He gave us the gift of Himself?

Makes me think of this quote I ran across recently:

“What if Jesus had simply listened to His own selfish wants that night in the Garden of Gethsemane? What if He yielded to what His emotions and human desires were telling Him? What if He had said, “Surely God does not want Me to embrace something that makes me feel so miserable? Surely I shouldn’t see this as an opportunity from my Father! Death is a curse! It’s shameful; it’s painful. Why would I surrender to something that doesn’t make Me feel happy?” (Leslie Ludy)

 

So as we were partaking in the bread and the juice during Communion tonight… I remembered his anguish and suffering. I can’t say how thankful I am that He was willing and that He did die – for all of mankind! (And me)

The best part is… Sunday is coming!!! 😀

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

