How Not To Worry

[I’m learning how not to worry]

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink or about your body, what you will wear… But seek first His Kingdom and and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Every day has enough trouble of its own.” (Matthew 7:25, 33-34)

So how do you not worry? How do you embrace the here and now with your whole heart, when there are still so many almosts and maybes? How is it possible to laugh and celebrate so much with everyone else and then catch so many of your own tears? How do you trust and believe that God really does have it all under control, when it seems like He’s not doing anything?

[I’m learning how to give up self]

“…In light of what Christ did for us on the cross, how can any sacrifice for Him be too extreme? Cultivating selflessness in these areas of our lives is just one small way of reflecting the beauty of our King and expressing our gratitude for what He has done for us.” -Leslie Ludy, The Lost Art of True Beauty, pg. 43

At youth girls book study, we’ve been talking alot about selflessness. How if we truly forget about ourselves and become completely consumed with Jesus Christ, suddenly the whole self-confidence/insecurity problem disappears. Instead there is Christ-confidence! I’ve posted these verses before, but I come back to them over and over. “Then he said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow Me.” (Luke 9:23) Notice Jesus said daily. Wouldn’t it be nice if it could be a one time thing? 🙂 But I am realizing more and more, alot of our problems and insecurities stem from focusing way too much on self. And when I’m wrapped up in myself, there’s not much room for Jesus there.

[I’m learning how to give thanks in everything]

I ordered Ann Voskamp’s book One Thousand Gifts today. I keep reading people’s stories about how it has impacted them and hearing tiny snatches of it here and there. John Y read some excerpts out loud one Sunday morning a few weeks ago and Grace has shared some about her journey of counting gifts. I think I’m going to start counting too.

“In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” (1 Thessalonians 5:18) Giving thanks in all things, whether in joy or pain… wow, that’s huge. Sometimes I think it would be so much easier to give thanks if this or this would change or happen (okay I think that way too often). Being able to give thanks in everything… in the good and in the painful… this will change our lives as we know it. (I can’t wait to read the book!)

And I’m also learning…

It’s okay to cry in the middle of church.
It’s okay not to feel happy all the time… and you can’t go by your feelings all the time anyway. (Why am I a Mercy again?)
God has amazingly perfect timing – (it’s so amazing once you can see it)
Life is not about me. AT ALL. It is all about God.
The ability to live by the Spirit is quite powerful but much harder than living by the law.
Resting in God’s true rest is an awesome place to be!
Life is all about balance (I think I need to become a juggler) 😀
Friends that listen and pray and speak words of life are really angels in disguise (you know who you are :D)
Sometimes you’ve just gotta jump in and start something, even though the trail is unblazed and new.

And on the not-as-serious side of things:

Don’t accidently set your car alarm off when it’s late and you’re trying to come home quietly 😉
Polka dot purses are just SO COOL 😀
Skype calls to my phone come through from Bakersfield, CA… ???? (First thought: WHO in the WORLD is this?!?!)
Cannot WAIT for all these random books and music to come in the mail (ordering stuff online rampage today)
Snow in April is endurable, but sunny 60ish days are definitely preferable.

Must go to bed or else I’ll really have to chug down the coffee tomorrow...

3 thoughts on “How Not To Worry

  1. I love this Kristen! Its so challenging and a daily process of “trying” to let go of what I want and allow God to have control! And you are so right, the rest of God is the best place to be..love you:)

    Like

  2. This is great! I’m a worrywart and a Mercy too; I’ve definitely been struggling with some of those same feelings! Thanks for the encouragement!

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

