Clean Hands

These verses popped into my head on the way to church last Sunday, and I looked them up as we were sitting there waiting for the service to begin. I’ve been thinking about them ever since. Am I worthy to ascend God’s mountain and stand in His Holy Place? What does it mean to have clean hands and a pure heart?

“Who may ascend the mountain of the LORD?
Who may stand in his holy place?
The one who has clean hands and a pure heart,
who does not trust in an idol
or swear by a false god. They will receive blessing from the LORD
and vindication from God their Savior.
Such is the generation of those who seek him,
who seek your face, God of Jacob.” (Psalm 24:3-6)

It’s fascinating to me how God takes all sorts of seemingly unrelated things and brings them together to gently teach me something specific. A couple weeks ago I had a dream that symbolized a need for cleansing and purifying – getting rid of the bad and disgusting issues in my life. At youth book study last Friday night, the girls studied the chapter about selflessness in The Lost Art of True Beauty – how to turn our eyes upon Jesus, denying self, and cultivating a life of serving God and others. God brings these verses to my mind on Sunday, and a few days later I discovered the Kutless CD in the library that has an amazing song called Give Us Clean Hands. (Some of the lyrics are Give us clean hands, give us pure hearts – let us not lift our souls to another… God let us be a generation that seeks – that seeks Your face, O God of Jacob)

Yeah God, I hear ya.

A lot of the problem with not having clean hands and a pure heart really comes down how much I am seeking God. I say I want to follow Him, but then how much do I actually do it? I say I want to know Him, but then how much do I actually seek Him? I say I want Him to be my number one focus in life, then I become easily distracted and consumed with people and things other than Him. (Idols)

Jesus, Jesus, at Your feet, Oh to dwell and never leave… (At Your Feet, Casting Crowns) Is this the cry of our hearts? To serve Him and Him alone? How much of ourselves are we willing to give up, for the sake of Christ? I’ve often thought of this phrase that Ray Vanderlaan says, “How badly do you want to be a disciple of Jesus?” (So excited to hear him speak today!!)

What does it mean to have clean hands and a pure heart?

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

