Choose Joy

My blog’s been silent lately… don’t worry, I’m still alive! (Ask me again tonight after I attempt to make it out of this icy/slushy mess to go to work) Oh yeah, no grumbling or complaining!! I forgot for a second there… 🙂

I’m not too fond of ice. Or cold. Or snow and hills. I’m not going to pretend that I absolutely adore them. Because quite frankly, I don’t.

BUT!!!!! I’ve decided that this is very true:

Joy is not dependent on outward circumstances.

I can be just as joyful and happy in the doldrums of an Ohio winter as I would be in the tropical balminess of Koloa, Hawaii. It might be a little harder ;), but it still is possible!! (Even when you’re a summer girl like me)

This applies to more than winter.

“Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:11-13)

I’m glad Paul shared his secret with us!!

My state of contentment and joy should be so much deeper than whether the sun is shining or whether everything is going “perfectly”. (Or whether the hot water heater/gas decides not to stay on for a few hours, right before my shower) I can choose to be joyful – I might not always feel like it, but I believe it’s possible. I haven’t been in prison, or persecuted, or burned at the stake, or accused unjustly. Would I still be joyful in THOSE circumstances?? I believe that if we learn how to be content and joyful in our irritating “little” struggles and situations and problems, we needn’t worry about the huge, scary ones. God gives grace and He gives us the joy and strength, if our eyes are fixed on Him.

Easier said than done, believe me.

I definitely am not discounting pain and awful circumstances. They are real and they hurt! I guess it just comes down to our faith and trust in Jesus… and whether we choose to pursue joy or not. Even when it’s hard and huge and impossible and scary and unknown.

(Can you tell that God has me enrolled in How To Trust God Implicitly 101??? Is anyone else in this class too?? ;))

4 thoughts on “Choose Joy

  1. Love that pic of the iced-over clothesline/clothespins! You have an eye for detail! Thanks for bringing it to us. Smile…..at your description of the “class” God has you in right now. Good thoughts on choosing joy.

    Like

  2. You asked is anyone else in the same classroom…(you may not know me but I come here every so often and enjoy your thoughtful posts. 🙂 ) And yes I am in the classroom of choosing joy even when it’s not easy too. Funny thing is – It makes our circumstances so much easier when we choose joy whether the circumstances themselves are easy or not. Isn’t He good in His wonderful mysterious ways? Keep looking to Him and embracing His strength through Joy. Blessings!

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

