Come, Everyone That Thirsts

“Jesus said to them,
I am the bread of life;
whoever comes to me shall not hunger,
and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.” (John 5:35, ESV)

“Come, everyone that thirsts, come to the waters;
and he who has no money,
Come, buy wine and milk without money and without price.
Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread,
and your labor for that which does not satisfy?
Listen diligently to Me,
and eat that what is good,
and delight yourselves in rich food.”

(Isaiah 55:1-2, ESV)


To the Samaritan woman at the well Jesus said:

“Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again,
but whoever drinks of the water that I give Him
will never be thirsty again.
The water that I will give him will become in him
a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” (John 4:13-14, ESV)
(emphasis added by me)

I sat in the rocking chair by the wood stove tonight, and read the account in John where Jesus says that He is the bread of life. I was struck with that thought, and searched out verses about thirst as well. There are so many. I’m reminded of how often I try to quench my hunger and thirst for God with food and drink that will not satisfy. Just as chips & pop & cotton candy will not fill my stomach for very long, so the superficial things I consume will not fill me.

I need True Bread to satisfy my hunger and Water that will quench my thirst forever. Only He can satisfy my deepest longings.

“Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.” (Matthew 5:6, KJV)

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

