The Attack Against Truth

It’s a battle.

Truth against lies.
Darkness against light.

We are attacked, at the core of our being. Satan sneaks in and pours lies into the corners of our vulnerability.

“You’re not beautiful.”
“You’re not worthy of love and pursuit.”
“God really doesn’t have your best in mind.”
“Why even desire or hope for things that will never be? They will never be fulfilled.”
“You’re not capable of leadership. No one will want to follow you.”
“Face it. You’re a failure.”
“You’re fat and ugly.”

On and on. Lie after lie.

Why do we so easily believe the lies?
Why do we believe the Father of Lies, rather than the Author of Truth?
Who am I listening to?

If I am only listening to the voice of Satan, I will fall prey to and absorb the lies. Despair and hopelessness will eventually rule me.

If I’m listening to Jesus’ voice, and who He tells me that I am, I will be secure. Because in Him, there is no darkness, but only Light and Truth. There is no room for lies, when He speaks.

I am His beloved.
He takes great delight in me
He quiets me with His love
He rejoices over me with singing. (Zeph. 3:17)
He turns [my] darkness into light.
He makes [my] rough places smooth. (Isaiah 42:16)
All my days were ordained and written about,
before one of them came to be. (Psalm 139:16)
He takes hold of my hand and keeps me. (Isaiah 42:6)
I am sustained and rescued by Him.
He made me.
He carries me [when I am too tired to go on] (Isaiah 46:3)

Why is it so hard to truly believe this? Our head may believe it. Our lips may say we do. But – do we act and live like we truly believe the truth?

Until we know way deep down inside who we are, and truly believe the truth Jesus speaks to us – well until then, the lies will keep on coming. And until we choose to believe the truth, they will not stop. And we will live and act out of our heart’s belief of these lies.

Insecurity. Desperation for approval of others. Basing self worth on outward appearance. Trying to satisfy our longings and desires with things that fade away. Running away from our Savior. Why this, when there is glorious truth and freedom to be discovered?

Jesus Himself IS truth. Why not choose to believe Him?

And the battle for truth goes on. Lest you think I have it all together, this is a very familiar battle. *sigh*

“And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” (John 8:32)

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

