Remembering

I’ve been thinking about remembering. (One of those many topics whirling around up in my brain… it’s been a strange hodge podge lately) What things are important to remember?

I remember strange little things…

There are funny little things that are so clear in my mind, that I can’t help but remember them. Like the exact place on 62 that I hit that huge deer and totaled the little Honda, back in 2007 . For months after that, I would literally slow down to 25-30 mph at that exact spot, much to the annoyance of the people  riding with me. Well hey, if you were happily driving along at 55 mph in broad daylight, and suddenly had two deer pop up over a bank, and after that all you could see was deer in your windshield, you would have nightmarish deja vu’ too!! There’s also the place right at the county line that I had a deer run into the side of my car last November… Yeah, can’t forget that exact spot either.

Now those things really aren’t all that important to remember – after all, the likelihood of running into a deer in the exact spot is pretty low. (Can you tell that I now have this paranoia of hitting deer?) I also remember strange things like birthdays of people I barely know anymore (like people I used to go to church with or old school friends), obscure embarrassing moments (ugh), or what the inside of the truck stop in Oklahoma City looks like. (It made a bad impression)

Maybe I’m an contradictory walking oxymoron? I remember random little things, and then I forget simple things like ordering pictures for my cousin or to stop and get gas when I’m almost on E or where in the world I parked my car at Walmart. :p Just Monday night I was pumping gas at the corner gas station of my little town, and recognized the lady at the pump next to me, so I said hi. We had a running conversation the whole time we were pumping, and then I couldn’t remember where I knew her from!! I thought it was from when I worked at Lulu’s, so when she asked me where I work now (because she never sees me anymore), I told her that I work at Sips now. Turns out she knew me from the first Sips location – I was quite chagrined…

Or maybe I’m just a scatterbrained Kristin who has too much going on in her brain and knows too many people. 😉

Seriously though, there are some things that are so important to remember! It ashames me how easily I forget. I forget how Jesus suffered and died for me. Oh I remember, but I don’t live like I really remember. I don’t truly grasp the vast significance of it…

I love this song!

Lord, You wept tears of blood for me
You hung in agony so deep
Carried my sin away for good
Now I, I take this bread and wine
Remembering Your love divine
You walked through fire to free my soul

Lest I forget
All of Your goodness
The blood You have shed
The cross I now remember
Lest I forget

(Rebecca St. James, Lest I Forget)

It’s not the time of year that we remember the crucifixion, or commemorate Passover, or celebrate the resurrection,  but I think it is fitting to remember these things at any time of the year.

(Pictures from our Passover meal back in March)

“For I received from the Lord what I also passed on to you: The Lord Jesus, on the night He was betrayed, took bread, and when He had given thanks, He broke it and said, “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of Me.” In the same way, after supper He took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood; do this, whenever you drink it, in remembrance of Me.” For whenever you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until He comes.”

Take time to remember all the blessings God has showered upon you… remember what He has done for you, where He has brought you from, and how He has faithfully led you. Don’t forget to thank Him!

When we truly remember, I believe it will change the way we live.

One thought on “Remembering

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

