Speak Life

How often do we speak truth and goodness into someone’s heart and life?

I think back to an October campfire with my two best friends. For some reason, I randomly suggested that we tell each other what we like/appreciate about each other. (Well, of course we know we like each other – we are best friends after all, so why even suggest it, right?) So we did. πŸ˜€ I will never forget the beauty and rejuvenation and life that it gave. So often we see and know the good in others, but we never tell them! It makes me wonder – is this the reason why it’s hard to believe truth, when it is spoken to us? (Because it so rarely happens?)

It’s really easy to think good of someone, but then never tell them. It doesn’t have to be elaborate. A simple word spoken ‘I really appreciate this _______ about you – keep it up!!’ can mean the world to someone. Something we may think is little may make someone’s day… or week! Things such as an encouraging card, a hug, time taken to listen, a little gift, a ‘How are you [really] doing?Β  text or email, or stopping by to see someone at work can really boost and encourage a struggling soul!

Sometimes it means having faith and hope for the person you are speaking to, especially when they are not able to have it for themselves. Sometimes it means speaking verses and promises from the Word of God. Sometimes it means praying over them. Sometimes it means listening to God’s Spirit and speaking hard truth that may need to be heard.

Whenever I am on the receiving end, it makes me feel undeserving and happy and humbled and blessed… all at the same time! Some examples from the last few days:

Found this in my polka dot mug while Mom was gone *smiles* πŸ˜€

Mr. Martin so generously gave me these three cards on Monday evening, as I was talking to him after the discipleship/evangelism class. Made my night!!

A message from a dear friend who felt urged to pray for me – ME – on the very night I really needed it… (She had no idea) Wow. A text yesterday with encouraging, caring words from a sweet southern πŸ˜‰ lady I admire a lot. The way God speaks through others blows me away! (And makes me cry)

“Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down,
but a good word makes him glad.” -Proverbs 12:25

It’s important to encourage others around us! I know how much it means to me, and I’m sure it means the same to you as well. What are you waiting for?? Do it!!!

5 thoughts on “Speak Life

  1. Kristin,
    I really love reading your blogs. You have such an insight into peoples hearts and souls.When I read your posts it brings a tear to my eye in a good way…..

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

