Troubled Times

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” (John 14:27)

Such a comforting verse in troubled times.

It’s hard to feel peaceful when feeling the horror and awfulness of this missing persons case… This kind of thing is always horrible, but it feels especially scary when it’s so close to home. 😦 The whole sense of safety in this community has been extremely violated. A week ago (Wednesday, Nov 10), four people went missing from a home just miles from here. Blood was found in their home and law enforcement have been on a massive search for them ever since. 13-year-old Sarah was found bound and gagged on Sunday morning in the basement of the town I work in, and the man holding her was arrested. The other three have not been found yet. Please pray for the safe return of Tina, Kody, and Stephanie. The suspense is terrible.

I am so proud of my community, and how everyone has come together in support – through praying, search parties, giving tips to the sheriff’s office, bringing meals to the families & law enforcement, candle light vigils, making purple and white ribbons, and wearing purple today in support of the missing people. Hope is still alive, thanks to so many people around here!

This verse is so comforting when my imagination goes wild and I start getting freaked out. Why should I be afraid? I know where I am going when I die, and I don’t have to fear what man can do to me.

“I tell you, my friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body and after that can do no more. But I will show you whom you should fear: Fear him who, after your body has been killed, has authority to throw you into hell. Yes, I tell you, fear him. Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? Yet not one of them is forgotten by God. Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” (Luke 12:4-7)

(Pictures from Pray For the Maynard Kids* facebook page)

One thought on “Troubled Times

  1. So horrible what happened. It’s a graphic picture of evil and the destruction of the side that is against God and wants to steal, kill and destroy.

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

