Of Wind and Leaves

Grape juice and popcorn.

Cottage cheese and peppermint tea.

Garlic bread.

Frozen pepperoni.

More peppermint tea and corn chips.

Focaccia bread and soup.

Cheese.

Forget sweets. Give me hot tea and salty food… my throat breathes a happy sigh of relief. (I never knew corn chips could be such a welcome sight!)

I keep missing things. I missed sitting in my little church on Sunday and hugging friends afterwards. I missed the big downtown Mt. Vernon fire that happened a block over from where I work. I missed the first discipleship class at Jitters. (*sniffsniff*) And I missed Messiah rehearsal tonight. All because of this silly sore throat and cough.

Oh well.

Yesterday it was delightfully balmy and warm and windy, before the rainstorm came through, so Isaac became my wind buddy and we went for a little walk in our big back yard. He makes sure that he puts on his favorite blue and red flamed flip flops and I slide on my favorite polka dot ones. We stroll through the leaves, and exaggerate our steps, just to hear the crunch. “Oh Isaac! You want me to push you?” We stop at the swing and I send him soaring and holding on for dear life. We continue our trek, walking around the back garden, past the bee hive and around to the crunchy leaves again. He giggles at the chicken hiding under a bush.

Then we get to the front of the house and I decide that I’m going to go in. He jabbers something at me and pulls my hand toward the front garden. “Okay I’ll go with you.” We walk a few steps, then stop in our tracks and I ponder thoughts about the wind and soak in the rushing sound as it blows through the row of evergreens. (I would say pines, but every time I do, someone around here corrects me) A minute goes by and we’re still standing hand in hand in the middle of the driveway. I realize that it feels like Isaac is rubbing my hand with one of his fingers. “How sweet!” I think. Suddenly it feels wet. And suddenly I realize it’s the DOG licking my finger and not Isaac at all. That was the end of that nice stand-in-the-middle-of-the-driveway-and-ponder-wind moment.

And then we went and picked red raspberries, which is not an easy task to do with my little wind buddy. You have to scramble and find them first, or he’ll eat them all!

This afternoon it was balmy and warm again. I raked leaves with all the brothers…then Rose came and helped me finish.

I love their crunch and woodsy smell.

Never mind that they’re dead and banished from the tree.

Splashes of beauty, even in their dying state.

Are we splashes of beauty in this dying world?

Look at that lone little thing, just hanging on for dear life. Tenacious comes to mind.

“All of us have become like one who is unclean,
and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags;
we all shrivel up like a leaf,
and like the wind our sins sweep us away.” (Isaiah 64:6)

He who forms the mountains,
creates the wind,
and reveals his thoughts to man,
he who turns dawn to darkness,
and treads the high places of the earth—
the LORD God Almighty is his name (Amos 4:13)

“Who has gone up to heaven and come down?
Who has gathered up the wind in the hollow of his hands?
Who has wrapped up the waters in his cloak?
Who has established all the ends of the earth?
What is his name, and the name of his son?
Tell me if you know!” (Proverbs 30:4)

One thought on “Of Wind and Leaves

  1. Happy Monday, Kristen! 🙂 Just wanted to tell you I like this post, I like the fall photos, I like your blog, and I like you. =)

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

