Joy in the Valley

So last night I couldn’t sleep until a ridiculous hour, and I lay awake and thought and wrote all sorts of blog posts in my head… and now they’ve mostly disintegrated into thin air and left my brain. I’m excited about all sorts of random things, and when I’m excited… well, those of you who know me very well in real life know what that’s like. 😉 Ha! (It’s called being scattered and chattery and floating around happily)

But you know what? It’s good to be excited again! 😀

We sang the song God On the Mountain in church this morning and wow, the chorus hits me hard every time.

VERSE 1
Life is easy when you’re up on the mountain
And you’ve got peace of mind like you’ve never known
But then things change and you’re down in the valley
Don’t lose faith for you’re never alone
CHORUS
For the God of the mountain is still God in the valley
When things go wrong, He’ll make them right
And the God of the good times is still God in the bad times
The God of the day is still God of the night
VERSE 2
You talk of faith when you’re up on the mountain
But the talk comes easy when life’s at its best
But it is down in the valley of trials and temptation
That’s when faith is really put to the test
Honestly, I hate slogging through the valley. I lose sight of hope. I question God and wonder what in the world He is doing. Wouldn’t it be nice to live on the mountain all the time? Ya know, where life is so full of sunshine and purpose and possibilities? When up on the mountain, nothing can stop us! We can do anything, with God on our side! But this is the awesome part: The God of the mountain is still God in the valley. Even in those difficult valleys that we find ourselves walking through, and when all seems hopeless and things go wrong and bad things happen, He is still there walking right beside us. And He will give us the strength to climb that mountain again.

I keep having these dreams about looking for my joy coffee mug, and it’s always nowhere to be found. That one’s not very hard to interpret.

Happiness is like a butterfly. The more you chase it, the more it will elude you. But if you turn your attention to other things, it comes and softly sits on your shoulder… (Unknown)

I like this quote and I like being happy. 😀 But I would much rather be full of joy, because joy is not dependent on circumstances. Instead of frantically searching for joy, when I turn my attention to other things (like serving Jesus and reaching out to others), I don’t have to manufacture or look for it, because it will be a part of me. It’s such a challenge to me to live with joy, all the days of my life.

Because the God of the mountain is still God in the valley. It’s true!

Believe it!!

One thought on “Joy in the Valley

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

