A Peek Into My Life

And this was when Kristin gave up on getting a nice, normal picture with both of us looking at the camera and smiling.

Yeah, he’s a chocolate lover too. Poor, patient curly.

My chocolate brown paradise is clean. It’s actually dusted, swept, and organized – all at the same time. Everywhere you look, your eyes are met with brown, dark red, and white. (With a few polka dots thrown in) *happy sigh* Just the way I like it. πŸ˜€ I discovered that my bookshelves are too full for all my books. This is a problem. Because I am certainly not finished acquiring books. Nope, not even close to finished!

Speaking of books, I conquered The Survivors Club book I’ve been reading for ages. I was determined, and I mean determined to read it from start to finish. (Since I have this really bad habit of starting and then never finishing non-fiction books) Today was THE DAY. I officially survived The Survivors Club book. Ha! I now know how to be better prepared if I’m ever on a crashing plane, how fear can save your life, how low your body temperature can go before you die of hypothermia, and how behavioral inaction can kill you. I also learned how faith plays an incredible role in survival and what kind of survivor I am. Of course, that’s just a tiny tip of the iceberg – one can’t describe this book in one paragraph. I would recommend it, simply for the awareness of how to react and respond to survival situations. It’s not a how-to book, but the science and secrets behind what it takes to survive.

“Ultimately, what defines a survivor is the talent for making the most of life, however much remains.”

“You can’t control the length of your life. Just the depth.”

-The Survivors Club, Ben Sherwood

Little tidbits:

*A clean car (inside and out) is such a good feeling. Especially when you’ve put it off for days and it drives you nuts every time you drive anywhere. Can’t blame anyone except myself… :/

*”This is probably how great recipes are discovered – when blondes bake/cook…” -Dad (*ahem*)

*”Rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep”… I especially love the rejoicing with those who rejoice part!! SO FUN!! πŸ˜€

*Wondering if I should do a blog giveaway?

*The Newark Earthworks are f-a-s-c-i-n-a-t-i-n-g. We toured the circle connected to the octagon, which were built the Indians referred to as the Hopewell. The octagon’s area is 50 acres, and the linked circle is 20 acres. Imagine building these perfectly mounded walls by hand, with only baskets. Plus the way the points line up with the lunar alignment of the moon is amazing!

*Family pictures = fun πŸ˜€ Especially when we all express our personalities/interests!

*Coffee during SS that was almost a fail, but then turned out okay after all… dumb coffee maker wouldn’t work right! And then, BBQ chicken for a pastor’s appreciation carry in… yummo!

*Today was a day off that I didn’t bake anything – yeah, that’s pretty unusual. I’ve been in such a baking mood lately…

Happy Monday!

One thought on “A Peek Into My Life

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

