Glam Job

If you think working at a coffee shop is always grand and glorious, think again. It does not just consist of sitting around and drinking coffee all day… πŸ˜‰ (And most days I’m busy enough that my coffee gets cold before I can drink it!) Most people give me this starry eyed look when I tell them where I work and say, “Wow! That would be so cool!” Don’t get me wrong – I love coffee shops & I like my job, but there are bad days & grumpy customers at coffee shops too. Really! It’s not completely glamorous!

I thought of this fact, as I dragged myself out of my cozy bed yesterday morning at 6 am. It was cold upstairs; dark and rainy outside. I even brewed coffee so I would have something to wake me up on the 25 minute drive. (I don’t usually bother) Yeah, that’s how un-glamorous I felt yesterday morning. Okay, it wasn’t really that bad! I tried not to get too annoyed with slow drivers (why do I always get stuck behind them when I’m running late?), watched the light creep into the sky, listened to lively, happy music and imagined that this song was written for me:

Wake up to the morning light
Wipe away the lonely nights
Let a brand new day wash over you…

Hold on… just another day or two
I can see the clouds are moving faster now
and the sun is breaking through
If you can hold on, to the One that’s holding you
there is nothing that can stop this crazy love
from breaking through…

Wake up to the rising sun
Thank the Lord for the things He’s done
Lift your eyes up to the hope
that’s ever true
Wanna see you smiling girl
You’re a light in this jaded world

Wipe away those tears
This one’s for you

[Hold On, Tobymac]

So I held on.

Puttered around doing kitchen prep work, drinking coffee (it was slow), making food, and steaming hot chocolate and Buckeye mochaccinos. I met Alice & Marilyn – whom I specifically remembered from when they came in last week, because of their unique hats. πŸ˜€ In the afternoon I spent a couple hours checking in and filling jars with the fabulous smelling shipment of coffee beans, while getting curious glimpses of the college guys from the Naz filming a scene up front. (The name of the show/movie is Meet the In-Laws-hehe!) Add keeping the place running while the boss ran across the street to look at something with someone (yeah, I got laughed at when I told that to the person calling for him), a couple loads of dishes, dipping Buckeyes, and trying not to eat everything in sight. (Well hey, I get hungry in the afternoon!)

One definition of glamorous is this: Full of excitement, adventure, and unusual activity. Well, sometimes. πŸ˜€ But there are also slammed crazy busy lunches where you can barely think straight, smoothie containers that leak everywhere, burns from bacon pans *ahem*, dishes, and just plain ol’ work. Glamorous? Not always.

Come visit me at my glam job sometime and I’ll make you a latte. πŸ˜‰

[Pardon the cheesy picture of yours truly]
One thought on “Glam Job

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

