Home

Home.

I call the gray country house on the Ridge my home. You know – the one with the stone walkway leading to the porch, with a red front door, and chickens running around in the yard. πŸ˜‰ And you can’t forget the detached mustard yellow garage and the ‘If My People Pray’ sign!

I like my home. πŸ˜€ I like how people always wave when they drive by, and how the schoolroom has red walls, and the feel ofΒ  the hardwood floors under my bare feet. But most of all, I like the people who live here. πŸ˜€

I’ve come to the realization that home is so much more than a place.

Home is having parents who love and are committed to each other – and to their children.

Home is stacks of interesting books, about all kinds of subjects. [Believe me, this is just a small selection]

Home is music coming from somewhere – lately it’s Amazing Grace or Let it Be from the keyboard (Rose), the penny whistle [Concerning Hobbits or Seminole Wind] or 12 string guitar (Ted), the Tacoma (Dad), Isaac’s strumming of the poor off tune, beat up, 5 string guitar, various youtube videos [anything from Nuisance to I See The Moon to Hey Jude to I’ll Carry You], and boombox blarings from the kitchen. (Sunday morning music wake-up calls to Revival in Belfast or my Kutless or Chris Tomlin doing-the-dishes music!)

Home is little clogs thrown on the floor, slobbery two-year-old kisses, and declarations of “I got the EGGS!”

Home is sitting around the kitchen island eating lunch, talking, toasting, or drinking coffee…

Home is Saturday night pizza and long Sunday dinner table conversations. πŸ˜€

Home smells like a bakery sometimes. Often it has the scent of coffee wafting through the air, or fresh bread, and lately it’s smelled like a tomato canning factory. (Ha!)

[Apple Cinnamon Monkey Bread]

[Chocolate Chip scones]

[Sour Cream Cinnamon Twists – and I forgot to take a picture after they were baked]

[Autumn Spice Cookies]

Home is a comfy blanket on the couch and a mug of tea in the Gathering Room… laughing over an Andy Griffith episode or the ever present “If you like to talk to tomatoes…” or occasionally at the person who never seems to stay awake during movies. :p

Home is being together as a family, and learning and growing from each other, and giving grace for the mistakes and faults.

This is home… now I’m finally where I belong!

3 thoughts on “Home

  1. I could so eat some of all your food! πŸ™‚ It looks SO good!! πŸ˜‰ btw, I’m feeling a bit detached from you… πŸ˜‰ Hope your day is lovely!

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

