Rainbow Sprinkles

The following excerpt is from the book The Lost Art of True Beauty by Leslie Ludy. This part of the book struck a chord with me, and I couldn’t help but think of it when we had cupcakes with rainbow sprinkles for supper tonight!

I’m always amazed at the way simple acts of kindness can transform a person’s entire perspective. It’s a principle I’ve come to know as “rainbow sprinkles.”

The rainbow sprinkles idea began one day when my three-year-old son, Hudson, was moping around the house, calling out to anyone who would listen, “I’m feeling creamy! I’m feeling creamy!” Finally I asked him, “You’re feeling creamy? What does that mean?” He looked at me patiently and explained, “It means I want ice cream!” Of course! Why didn’t I think of that? It was totally obvious, once he spelled it out for me. Normally I don’t just give my kids ice cream at the drop of the hat, but how could I resist a little kid who was “feeling creamy”? I took him to the local malt shop, where he eagerly ordered a mint chocolate chip ice cream cone with rainbow-colored sprinkles. The sprinkles, as the malt shop owner insightfully pointed out, are mainly there for the happiness factor. You really can’t taste them, but they brighten up the whole ice cream experience and make you smile.

Since that trip to the malt shop, I’ve been on the lookout for ways to add rainbow sprinkles to other people’s lives. When you come face-to-face with the overwhelming need out there in the world, it can easily make you feel helpless to do anything significant. However, I’ve found that even small “sprinkles” can make a huge difference in people’s lives. Taking time to reach out to a lonely person, making a child feel special, cooking a meal for a sick person, giving an unexpected gift to a busy person, sending a note to a grieving person — all of these seemingly little gestures can bring incredible joy and comfort (and more importantly, an expression of Christ’s love) to those around you.

(copyright 2010 – The Lost Art of True Beauty, Leslie Ludy, page 123)

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

