Summer Aspirations

I love summer! Just the very word gives me warm fuzzies. I love, love, LOVE it! Always have – probably always will.

Last year I didn’t have the greatest summer, for various reasons. I missed out on a lot of things, had a lot of stress to deal with at my job, and just didn’t really enjoy living life very much. (Sad to say) I tried my hardest, and it wasn’t all bad. It just wasn’t super fantastic.

But I have officially decided: This summer is going to be the best YET!! I’m gonna make it my best. 🙂

I’m going to sleep out under the stars on the trampoline… Sit on the front porch and sing oldies with my guitar-pickin’ Dad… Catch fireflies with Isaac… Go on walks more often… Pick daisies… Climb up in the treestand to journal & talk to the Creator… Sit around campfires with friends… Make fresh strawberry pie & fried green tomatoes… Help capture moments of a dear friend’s outdoor wedding… Run outside barefoot… Breathe in the scent of freshly cut grass… Listen to the locusts humming… Watch fireworks and try not to jump too high when they’re loud… Take Ted & Rose to my favorite 50’s ice cream parlor… Pick blueberries… Sing my heart out at VBS and try not to look too ridiculous doing monkey motions... Bike down to the river with my “big little” brother… Pick flowers with my little curlyHelp Mom store away food for the winter… Make homemade root beer… Start writing more regularly… Roast marshmallows…Wear flip flops as much as possible… Dance in a field of wildflowers… Fall more and more in love with JesusEnjoy each moment… Live life to the fullest of my ability!!

Yay for SUMMER!!


7 thoughts on “Summer Aspirations

  1. I will have to agree that summer is the best time of the year. The flowers are in bloom, nature is very much alive and it just reminds you how great it is to be alive, so do as much as you can before old man winter comes knocking on your doos again….

    Like

  2. You are a Dear! Funny, because I’ve also decided that I’m going to make this a wonderful summer and my best yet! 🙂 Have a good day!!

    Like

  3. Loved reading your post, Kristin! Is that 50’s ice cream parlor in Berlin? I’ve been to one there already and it’s really cute. I think you should have added some more things to your list… but since this is public… I’ll just message you. 😉

    Like

  4. What a lovely post! Gets me excited about summer too, even though the weather here is stormy and rainy and not summery at all. 🙂

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

