Ask

“Ask and it will be given you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks, the door will be opened. Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!” -Matthew 7:7-11

“This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us – whatever we ask – we know that we have what we asked of him.” 1 John 5:14-15

Ask. Seek. Knock.

I’m pondering and wrestling through the idea of asking God for good gifts. I keep running across verses that refer to asking, and it excites me every time I find one! (If you know of any more, please tell me!) Our Father wants to give us good gifts, if we will but ask Him. He wants us to ask Him for specific things. We can have confidence that He hears us!! He really does!! If I ask according to His will, believing that He will answer, He will. However, He might answer in a different way than I think He should.

Do I have to have strong faith in order for my request to be answered? Will God answer, even if I doubt? If I feel something may be in His will and ask for it, will I [for sure] receive it? How do I ask for something without being selfish or demanding? How do I respond if the answer to my request is no?

Do I trust God enough to be vulnerable enough to ask Him for something close to my heart?

[Raw questions from my heart]

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

