Journey, Part 1

Forget the potholes in the road and celebrate the journey instead!

This was a message inside a Dove chocolate I unwrapped last week. (And ate, of course!) I partially agree with this message, and partially disagree. Huh? you say. I agree with the celebration of the journey part, but we should not completely disregard the potholes.

Journey. This journey we are traveling has potential for many different things. Risk. Passion. Fulfillment. Joy. Pain. Hope. Danger. Growth. Purpose. Vision. Change.

It is not realistic to expect smooth roads and blue skies throughout the entire journey. There will be potholes and stormy nights. Hard times will hit us hard, and we’ll stumble around, wondering which direction the road will twist next. Fog clouds our vision and we strain to see the road ahead. What’s next, God? I don’t understand. These “potholes” can be likened to hardships in the journey. We hate to struggle. We hide rejection and sorrow. We run away from pain. However, we can’t just avoid them by walking on the other side of the road, because they are there. God redeems every difficult bump and pulls us from every pit we fall into. If we trust Him, He will be faithful to carry us through.

This verse has given me so much comfort when I need a reminder that He is there.

“But now, this is what the LORD says—
He who created you, O Jacob,
He who formed you, O Israel:
“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are Mine.

When you pass through the waters,
I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
you will not be burned;
the flames will not set you ablaze.” (Isaiah 43: 1-2)

So just how do we master the art of maneuvering the potholes and not falling in too deeply, yet embracing the growth that comes from struggles?

(I have more to add to this in Part 2)

2 thoughts on “Journey, Part 1

  1. Hey dearie:) loved reading your thoughts!! so true about the pot holes, they arent fun to go through but God is SO right there in the struggle fighting for us…Kinda reminds me of a song, Without a valley, how would I ever know that his strong an lasting love will never let me go, How would I know for sure that I’m secure an safe where ever I go, without a valley how would I know? anyways, love you, hope your week is wonderful!!

    Like

Leave me a comment... you might just make my day!

